Loading cart contents...
View Cart Checkout
Cart subtotal:

2019/2020 Textile Fiber Artist Project Grant Program

The 2019-2020 application process is now CLOSED.  The Project Grantees will be announced in early June.

Textile Center partners with Jerome Foundation in selecting emerging fiber artists based in Minnesota for individual project grants that inform and advance the creation of new work. Fiber art projects can be broad and varied, and include any creative practice that embraces the materials, techniques, and sensibilities of fiber and textiles.

In offering these Fiber Arts Project Grants, Textile Center supports the Jerome Foundation’s Core Values:

  • DIVERSITY: We consciously embrace diversity in the broadest sense. We support a diverse range of artists and organizations, including but not limited to those of diverse cultures, races, sexual identities, genders, generations, aesthetics, points of view, physical abilities, and missions. We support a diverse range of artistic disciplines and forms, created in a variety of contexts and for different audiences.
  • INNOVATION and RISK: We applaud unconventional approaches to solving problems and support artists and organizations that challenge and engage the traditional aesthetic and/or social dimensions of their respective disciplines. This may include, but is not limited to: expanding the aesthetic or social experience in the discipline in which they work and/or reclaim and revive traditional forms in original ways imaginative, rigorous, and well-executed technically proficient and exhibit a high level of craft compelling and has a distinctive vision and authentic voice connects with intended audiences/participants engaging aesthetically and experientially bold and risk-taking
  • HUMILITY: We work for artists (rather than the reverse) and believe that artists and organizations are the best authorities to define their needs and challenges—an essential humility reflective of Jerome Hill, our founder. The artists and arts organizations we support embrace their roles as part of a larger community of artists and citizens, and consciously work with a sense of purpose, whether aesthetic, social or both.

The Jerome Foundation, created by artist and philanthropist Jerome Hill (1905-1972), seeks to contribute to a dynamic and evolving culture by supporting the creation, development, and production of new works by early career/emerging artists. The Foundation makes grants to early career artists and those nonprofit arts organizations that serve them in the state of Minnesota and the five boroughs of New York City.

Eligible artists typically have a track record of generating and publicly presenting full work over which they have ultimate creative control in the discipline in which they are applying, but are not yet at a point in their careers where they receive consistent development and production opportunities and significant recognition, awards, and acclaim.

Applications are not accepted from artists who are also enrolled in degree-granting programs at the time or application or who will be students during the grant period.

2019-2020 Jerome Fiber Artist Project Grants

Textile Center is pleased to announce the 2019 Jerome Fiber Artist Project Grant application period is now open! Now in its 11th year, this program is designed to expand opportunities for emerging fiber artists in Minnesota. Three $6,000 project grants will be awarded, as well as additional professional development opportunities at Textile Center for the winning applicants. The grant awards include exhibition planning and implementation, culminating with a final show of the artists’ new work during May and June, 2020.

Together, Jerome Foundation and Textile Center support and celebrate the creative spirit of fiber artists. We welcome and encourage applications from artists representing diverse cultural perspectives.

2019-2020 Grant Information and Instructions

2018-2019 Jerome Recipients

  • Janet Dixon
  • Heather MacKenzie
  • Mary Pow

2016-2017 Jerome Recipients

  • Elizabeth Garvey
  • Julie Hassler
  • Kristin Hoelscher-Schacker
  • Catherine Missaghi

2016-2017 Exhibition: Loop • Skin • Rust • Mind

2015-2016 Jerome Recipients

  • Marcia Haffmans
  • Sarah Nassif
  • Alex Newby
  • Maggie Thompson

2015/2016 Exhibition: Observe • Record • Relate

2014/2015 Jerome Recipients

  • Sarah Kusa
  • Becka Rahn
  • Jennifer Schultz
  • Kate Vinson

2014/2015 Exhibition: You Know Who You Are

2014 Jerome Recipients

  • Susan Hensel
  • Kristi Kuder
  • Allison Roberts
  • Julie Sirek

2014 Exhibition: Truth Telling

2012/2013 Jerome Recipients

  • Moira Bateman
  • Marjorie Fedyszyn
  • Chiaki O’Brien
  • Caroline Keefe

2012/2013 Exhibition: Elemental Matter

2013 Exhibition of Jerome Alumni: Next

2011/2012 Jerome Recipients

  • Gay Kemmis
  • Lisa Loudon
  • Mary Mortenson
  • Kimber Olson

2010/2011 Jerome Recipients

  • Kristina Fjellman
  • Anne Larson
  • Brenda Brousseau
  • Kim Matthews

2009/2010 Jerome Recipients

  • Allison Roberts
  • Lyz Wendland
  • Kevin Kramp

2008/2009 Jerome Recipients

  • Maggie Dayton
  • Heidi Henderson
  • Ingrid Restemayer